TAW- Week 1

Yes, I’m plunging into The Artist’s Way once again. Over the years I think I’ve completed the whole twelve weeks once. I’ve dipped in as needed but always on my own and never for the full twelve weeks. My friend, writer, motivational/inspirational coach, Jackie invited readers of her blog to join her as she embarked on TAW again and I jumped at the chance. I have actually written every single day since January 1 but I’m ready to kick it up a notch. Also, I’ve been feeling a little stagnant in my life lately and TAW is guaranteed to shake things up – in a good way. So here we go…

1. I did morning pages every day, although not necessarily every morning. I generally write them even when not doing TAW but I am finding them to be more reflective than usual. Not sure why. I’m thinking the fact that I have meditated for twenty minutes first thing every morning since Sept. 7 might have something to do with it.

2. Artist Date… why oh why do I resist you so? I put it off and put it off. It’s not like I don’t have the time. I do. And I know that they work. Just before I knew I was going to do TAW again I was having coffee with a dear friend. After hearing that I hadn’t created any kind of art (collage or painting) in a very long time even though I wanted to she pulled me out of the coffee shop and into some funky stores and it totally inspired me. So I know that Artist’s Dates work. I need to research and find fun, cheap things to do around here. Keep a running list. For this week I took my dog for a two mile walk around the lake. Not technically alone but it was worth it to see the lake through her eyes… and nose! It was like Disneyland for her. Everything was exciting: the black squirrel running up a tree, the acorn falling on the ground, swans fluttering their wings on the water. Every sound piqued her interest and therefore mine as well.

3. Delving into the blurts is always disconcerting. The way we talk to ourselves. We’d never speak that way to another person. I forgot that we were supposed to work with the blurts and affirmations at the end of our morning pages so I will do that this week. But I have to admit that affirmations always leave me feeling a little silly and awkward. Probably worth it to see where that might have come from.

One thought on “TAW- Week 1

  1. Kim, it’s funny that you’d say affirmations leave you feeling silly and awkward. I used to feel that way, until I realized their true power. Our brain takes in so much more than we ever give it credit for, and if we put in negative thoughts, that’s what we take out. It doesn’t matter where or how we received them in the first place. So, once I realized the power of an affirmation, that’s when I stopped thinking it silly and feeling awkward for saying them. Plus, you can word them in whatever way is meaningful and powerful for you. The mantra I heard last week: Expect the best. There’s nothing silly and awkward about that. But it’s an affirmation, if you use an I before it. I expect the best.

    And why shouldn’t we? 😉

    Thanks so much for joining me in this TAW adventure. I look forward to seeing you take charge and take those Artist Dates.

Leave a Reply

