TAW Week 8

I noticed that the three things I underlined in this chapter are all about the same thing: showing up daily.

“If you break a screenplay down into daily increments, that small smattering of writing can get done quickly and promptly–before the dirty laundry. And it can carry you through the rest of your day guilt-free and less anxious.”

“…the drudgery of small and simple daily steps in the right direction.”

” Small actions lead us to the larger movements in our creative lives.”

This is something I have struggled with for years, the whole showing up everyday thing even if, espeically if, I don’t know what comes next. So, the fact that I have showed up every single day since january 1 to write on a story is HUGE for me. Huge. Sure, there’s a part of me that wishes I wrote for longer stretches but I am ignoring that part for now. That is the prissy part of me that thinks whatever I do is never ever enough. Never. Seriously, she’s a pain in the ass.

Showing up to my writing everyday has given me creative strength. It’s just like building literal muscle. You lift small weights every day, and slowly, almost imperceptibly you gain muscle mass. You look in the mirror and see these lovely toned arms and realize that your work is paying off. Same with my writing. I look up and realize that the daily struggle is largely gone. Sure, I don’t always run to my desk, eager to dive into the latest story but showing up has become almost non-negotiable. The drama is gone.

Morning pages: wrote them eveyday. A couple of days they felt tedious. Self-indulgent. A waste of a lovely tree. But, hey, that’s part of my process.

Artist date: I went to Barnes & Noble in Ann Arbor for a free acoustic performance by Michael Franti and Spearhead. So much fun. Happy music. He talked about writing some of his songs. They signed CD’s and hugged and took a photo with each and every fan that stood in line. The epitomy of graciousness.

 

One thought on “TAW Week 8

  1. I love your Artist Date. I’m not sure what I’ll do for mine in the coming week, but I need to make up for last week. The days were all mixed together or something. Still, it was a productive week, and I wrote a lot — even if it wasn’t the Morning Pages.

    BTW, I’m glad we’ve reconnected, too! Wish we could go back to Kenyan College together again and see what the difference would be. Wonder how much we’ve really grown.

    I’m glad you’re showing up for the writing, and I’m really glad you took the time to critique my short story. Not sure when I’ll get to pull it out again and revise. But I’ll do it soon enough. The paying work has to come first. And that’s fun, too, so I’m not complaining. 😉

    Now, come back to my blog and post your REVERSE bucket list. That should be enlightening.

Leave a Reply

