A Look Back, A Look Ahead

Before plunging into resolutions and intentions for the new year, I like to reflect on all that I accomplished in the last year, from the mundane to the profound and everything in between. So here goes. In 2010 I:

• wrote for at least five minutes every single day on a story, not counting morning pages or blogging. This one is huge and it still amazes me that I did it.

• continued to write brief reflections on all of the books I read.

• sent out several stories and now have an editor at a journal who sends me very encouraging notes even while rejecting my work (a tricky thing to do). An acceptance is on the horizon this year. I can feel it.

• worked out more days than not this year. It is no longer a thing I force myself to do. It’s just what I do.

• managed to meditate every morning for twenty minutes for about three months. Now I’m back to doing yoga with a short meditation at the end.

• went out to Colorado to help my sister and her husband take care of their new baby while she was in the NICU for the first ten days of her life.

• welcomed Izzy into our lives. Sweetest dog ever.

• finally painted our bedroom.

• finally painted my office.

• got new living room furniture.

• got a new car.

• got a new washer (out of necessity).

• had a fabulous vacation in the Poconos with my best friend since high school. Now Emily wants to move there when she grows up.

• now have a teenager driving in the family. It brings up equal parts terror and relief.

• cut way back on eating out thus saving mucho bucks as well as calories.

• stopped recording several TV shows in order to cut back on my viewing time.

• managed to be in bed by 9:00  most nights to get at least seven hours of sleep.

So, there you have it. Not a bad year. The problem is that last year my resolution was to write at least five minutes everyday and I did that. Now, I would like to up the ante a bit, challenge myself without setting myself up to fail. Not sure how to do that yet. But, here are some things I’d like to do in 2011:

• bring a plant into our home and keep it alive. Those who know me well are either laughing hysterically or shaking their heads.

• eat less processed foods. Find inspiration here.

• write for at least fifteen minutes, five days a week, five minutes on weekends. Type up what I write. Move on to 1000 words a day, five days a week.

• work with a couple of writing texts.

• send out several stories a month. Designate one day a week a business day.

• amp up my blog presence. Set up a schedule and stick with it. Visit more blogs to drive traffic to mine.

• read more books I own or borrow from library so that I buy less. (I know, I know…more laughter)

• finish mixed media painting for my office.

• finally do something creative with old door to hang in family room.

• keep sketchbook/art journal for fun.

• save up for a family vacation to an island before Katie goes off to college.

• mindfulness, gratitude and compassion.

Wishing all of you a New Year filled with joy, creativity and the passion to live each day fully.

 

Leave a Reply

