Welcome She-Writes Bloggers

Thanks again to Meg for coordinating this. It’s always on my list to visit and comment on several blogs throughout my week but then Friday comes and it never gets scratched off of my to-do list. The Blogger Ball Redux always gets it done.

I am a fiction writer who is also a wife/mother of 2 teenage girls/graphic designer/ avid reader/mixed media artist/chai tea drinker/lover of well-written (usually independent) movies/yoga & workout enthusiast/wanne-be gardener. I’ve had several stories published in small print journals as well as on-line and have amassed quite a collection of rejection slips that range from form to downright encouraging. I love connecting with other writers and look forward to hearing from you.

Welcome to the SheWrites Blogger Ball!

13 thoughts on “Welcome She-Writes Bloggers

  1. Hi, Kim. I’m hopping over from the Bloggers Ball. I’ve been meaning to visit more SheWrites bloggers, too. I like the idea of setting aside Fridays to stop in and see the neighbors. I’ll add yours to my list of places to sit down and stay awhile.

  2. > I’ve had several stories published in small print journals as well as on-line and have amassed quite a collection of rejection slips that range from form to downright encouraging.

    Congratulations on the publications, Kim. And those rejections are the battle scars we all have. 🙂

    • Interesting article about whether to go on to study fro an MFA. I understand your reasoning, I waited until my family had left for college before doing a course because they always semed to be more important. The main thing the course gave me was to be true to the commitment of writing – just the fact of paying for it made me value every second. And also I found it is affirming just to decide to put yourself first, and to acknowledge the writer in yourself with a definite act. Good luck with your writing, I like your blog.

      • I totally understand what you’re saying. I taught a writing class at one point that was funded by a grant so the women didn’t have to pay. Once the grant ended and they had to pay, they seemed to take it more seriously, put more effort into it and as you said, value it.

    • I find chai completely addictive. I’ve been drinking it and writing for so long I think it’s like Pavlov’s bell to me at this point:)

  3. HI Kim!
    Over from Shewrites. Great to read your blog! very sensible to assign a day a week to it rather than splurging one day and then not writing for a month! Enjoyed you poetry month post. Mary Oliver is a great favourite of mine, too. Anne Michaels, David Malouf and LEs Murray are also well-thumbed collections on my shelves. I adore haiku and tanka of the contemporary English type, too – so compressed into a small space.

Leave a Reply

