She Writes Blogger Ball #4

Welcome to the SheWrites Blogger Ball!

Welcome She Writers! Thanks to Meg for, once again, organizing this delightful way to meet fellow readers, writers and bloggers.

I write almost daily. My preferred place is in the corner of my favorite coffee shop with an iced soy chai latte in front of me. I have a lovely office at home (which is partially pictured in my blog masthead) but at home I get so easily distracted by the dog, dishes, laundry, internet. My internet stopped working on my laptop aboout two months ago after it fell out of the back of my car. After researching it online we think that the AirPort got jostled loose. It can be fixed but I am kind of enjoying being internet free when I am out writing. For now anyway. I’m sure I will need it again at some point.

My blog is still a work in progress as I search for the perfect balance between posting nothing and being way too structured in how often I post. What I am aiming for now is to keep the Five on Friday, Quotable Tuesday and then add brief reflections on my writing life and the ebb and flow of the creative process as I live it.

I hope you enjoy the time you spend here. And please know that I truly appreciate it as our time is so precious. I look forward to meeting you on your blogs over the next few days. The trick for me is to make time on non-Blogger Ball weekends to regularly check-in:)

 

13 thoughts on “She Writes Blogger Ball #4

  1. Hi *waves*. Fellow SW blogger ball dancer here. I and my blog(s) are a constant work in progress so you’re not alone there. Have been subscribed to this blog for a while but I promise to comment more in future.

  2. Hey Kim!
    I’m also from SheWrites. I love your site–you have some good resources here. Looking forward to spending more time here and getting to know each other as we continue to write.

    I’m currently struggling through a memior and my first book. I’m in the frustrating stages of it–where nothing seems to be working at the moment even though I’ve gotten 200 or so pages down.

    • Welcome, Lisa! That stage of any project can be incredibly frustrating. Two opposite routes have worked for me: taking a complete break to work on smaller pieces or just showing up everyday even just for five-fifteen minutes. When I choose the latter I tend to do lots of freewrites, letting whatever POV, tense. etc… come through, not worrying about how it will fit it with what I already have. I am of the camp that believes in finishing a draft of any project before you begin revising. Looking forward to getting to know you as well:) Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Hello, here from the SheWrites Blogger Ball. Nice to meet you. My blog was a struggle when I first started it. I has to totally revamp it. You’ll get a hang of it…then again, I’m still revamping mine…Stay encouraged. Your site is looking good right now. Oh and sometimes I wish my Internet woud die too. LOL

  4. Here from the SheWrites Ball. My office isn’t lovely, but ugly and in the basement. I always fantasized about writing in a coffee shop, but discovered that’s too distracting for me. There’s nothing pretty to look at down here in my basement writing hovel except my big, beautiful computer screen.

    I’m going to snoop around your blog now.

    Susan Bearman
    Two Kinds of People

  5. > the corner of my favorite coffee shop

    Me too — for just the reason you mention (although my wireless works, I don’t turn it on). I also love white noise buzz of activity around me.

    And if you find the perfect balance, will you share the secret with the rest of us?!

    • Hi Meg! Yes, white noise works for both sleep and writing for me:) And if I ever stumble upon that secret formula I will definitely share it!

  6. Thanks for stopping by my blog, and so glad to have discovered yours!
    One of Zadie Smith’s Rules of Writing is to turn off the internet for a few hours each day. I’m yet to obey that one though…

  7. Kim – I agree that the Bloggers Ball idea is a delightful way to meet other bloggers. I have enjoyed visiting and communicating with every single writer I’ve “met” this weekend. I also find I am quite productive in restaurants and coffee shops. Last weekend my 14-year-old needed to shop for summer clothes. I took him to the mall, gave him some cash, and told him to meet me in the coffee shop when he was done. Then I got some coffee and wrote a blog post. That’s my idea of a great shopping trip! (I write long-hand first draft and then type the second draft.)

  8. Hiya, I’m over from Bloggers’ Ball. As for me, I could never write in a busy cafe, I admire folks who can! I’m too distractible. I write in my messy, paper-piled studio. Glad I stumbled upon your blog! Cheers, Catherine

Leave a Reply

