Happy New Year!

I admit it. I’m a New Year’s resolution junkie. I love the thought of a brand new year beckoning with all of its infinite possibilities. Because of this I tend to over-resolve, thus under achieve. This year was no different. I went to the bookstore, sat at my table with my cup of cinnamon spice tea and scribbled furiously in my notebook for pages and pages all the good intentions for 2012. Once I glanced back at all I had written I was both excited and overwhelmed. Excited by what was possible, overwhelmed by all I was expecting of myself. So, now that we are two days into the new year I am going to try a different approach. Instead of resolving to do or not do something for the whole year, I am taking it week by week. Most of my resolutions tend to be about my writing and art. So each week I will set a goal regarding one or the other or even both. This week I wanted to dip my toe back into art journaling by doing at least one page. Today I spent three hours (and they flew by) in my art space, just playing, creating a journal for this year.

Here’s a peek:

Cover for my 2012 Art Journal

First Spread: Action

My word for this year is “Action.” Big steps, little steps, miniscule (or micro, as Sark calls them) steps. Anything that keeps me moving forward. Which means I need to get comfortable with not knowing what’s next and with imperfection.

How about you? What is your relationship to resolutions? Do you make them? Share them? If so, feel free to comment them below. I’d love to hear from you.

I wish all of you a new year filled with the creative actions that create the momentum to make all of your dreams come true.

Happy New Year!!

4 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. I don’t make resolutions, since I tend to forget or ignore them, or both (wait, can you forget and ignore something at the same time? 🙂 ), but I do have some goals, mostly about writing (writing a novel and a non-fiction book, writing more stories and submitting them to more places…), some about exercise (basically, I should exercise, I’m lazy).

    • Ivana, many of my goals have been very similar to yours. I’ve got the exercise thing down, it’s the writing more productively that trips me up. I think my goals need to be more specific and easily measurable which is why I’m trying the weekly goals. We’ll see how it goes. The other thing I am trying is to have much more compassion for myself, the same as as I would for a dear friend. Good luck with your goals!

  2. Love the acronym – Abundant creativity thrives in ordinary necessity! And the cover and first spread are beautiful, they bode well for a colourful, productive year. I think you are right, small steps lead to great goals and I remember learning to concentrate on the steps rather than the goal has been a big help to me in the past.

    I don’t redo my goals every year, but about every 5 years I do, I look way out at what will manifest in the longer term, planting seeds in my sub conscious and I don’t refer to them too often, they set the course but don’t dictate the speed.

    I wish you the best for 2012, keep nourishing that creative spirit.

    • Thank you, Claire! I like the idea of revisiting larger goals every five years. In fact, I think I have some sort of workbook about 5-year goals/plans.

Leave a Reply

