Quotable Tuesday, Valentine’s Edition

“But love…is more than three words mumbled at bedtime. Love is sustained by action, a pattern of devotion in the things we do for each other every day.” – Nicholas Sparks

I stumbled across this in my web browsing today and while I definitely see how it relates to human relationships, it got me wondering how it relates to our Art. It’s not enough to say “I love writing.” How do we sustain it? What is our pattern of devotion to writing every day?

I find that when I actively devote myself to writing every day through a meditation practice, then morning pages followed by writing practice focused on my current work-in-progress which leads to more writing on said project, my writing life is in flow. I go to bed and wake up thinking about my story and/or characters just as when you are first in love, he or she is the first and last thing you think of each day. Reading widely and diversely, connecting with other writers via blogs and other on-line writing communities, observing and participating in the world around me and, of course, writing, sustain my writing life.

What sustains yours? What is your pattern of devotion?

Leave a Reply

