Quotable Tuesday

“It’s vital to establish some rituals–automatic but decisive patterns of behavior–at the beginning of the creative process, when you are most at peril of turning back, chickening out, giving up, or going the wrong way.”

– Twyla Tharp, “The Creative Habit”

It’s summer and I’ve let my writing rituals melt away with the lazy days and heat. But once school starts back up, I will find my way back to those rituals that ground my writing practice. It usually involves yoga, meditation, lighting of a candle, morning pages then into my work. Some days it means taking myself out to the bookstore to write in the cafe with a cup of tea. Sometimes I include reading poetry out loud, getting the music of language in the space around me. Writing at the same time everyday is helpful. It becomes almost Pavlovian. Sitting here, at this time means it is time to write. It’s important to keep the ritual simple, otherwise the time is spent on the preparation rather than the actual writing.

What about you? Do you have any writing rituals? If so, I’d love to hear about them. Please share in the comments.

2 thoughts on “Quotable Tuesday

  1. Hi Kim,
    My writing rituals include: getting a fresh cup of coffee, finding the light — that is, the place where the natural light is best, and taking a few moments to breathe deep. Sometimes I may ask before beginning, \”What do I want to write?\” Thanks for writing today!

  2. Pingback: The Quotables « Turn the Page

Leave a Reply

