Weekly Goals

I read two posts today where writers were setting goals for the week and thought maybe I should start doing that again. So, here I am, setting some goals for this week:

– Write two hours a day minimum (morning pages, writing practice, type up pages from notebook)

– Post on my blog Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday

– Visit and comment on 8 blogs

– Post last discussion for “Gone, Girl”

– Post photo of mini art journal spread Sunday

My method of choosing goals changes depending on what phase of writing I am currently in. I may go by word count when I am in the first draft stage and my goal is to just get the draft down. Later I may choose to spend x amount of hours per day revising or maybe revise one particular scene. How about you? Do you set goals? If so, how do you go about it? Daily? Weekly? Monthly? A combination of all? I’d love to hear from you.

2 thoughts on “Weekly Goals

  1. I need to set writing goals again, but more than that I need to work harder at meeting my goals. I feel like I’ve become sidetracked from my real writing by blogging–even though I love the blogging and feel its giving me an opportunity to write creative non-fiction. But I’m really lagging on the novels and short story revisions.

    You’ve inspired me to set some new goals this week.

    • Deborah- I rarely feel I work hard enough but setting goals helps clarify what I am working toward. And I LOVE checking things off my list:)

Leave a Reply

