Day 6 of 30 Days of Writing: Write Yourself Alive!

Photo: NASA Goddard space Flight Center via Flickr

Photo: NASA Goddard space Flight Center via Flickr

Well, I did it. I managed to write every day, even while on vacation.

Yay!

I shared a bed with my daughter so I’d wake up before her, slide my two notebooks out of my bag and I’d write my morning pages for about 15 minutes. Then I set a timer for another 15 minutes, and wrote from the POV of one of the characters in my current WIP using a prompt from Judy Reeves‘ “A Writer’s Book of Days.” (I have both editions!) This morning I even sketched the floor plan of a character’ study.

10377981_10152263601231027_3253836838750858008_n

The good thing about these write-every-damn-day-no-matter-what challenges is that they give me some momentum. I often compare it to a rocket ship. It takes so much energy to launch a rocket into space but once it’s there, it’s there.

Showing up every day no matter what keeps my writing life orbiting—around and through me.

Leave a Reply

