#AMonthofFaves2016 ~ This Is How We Read

dillard-on-reading

I don’t exactly have a reading routine or structure. I read whenever I can. I read in the morning before my own writing to “keep good sentences in my ears” as Jane Kenyon advised. I like to try and read poetry before I begin writing, even reading it out loud to get beautiful language in the air around me.

I read:

~ in the middle of the day in my cozy nook by the fireplace, usually with a cup of tea and my favorite blanket. Our dog, Izzy, is usually nearby.

~ at night before bed.

~ in bed in the morning if I don’t have to leap right up and start my day.

I bring a book with me, always. You never know when there will be a pocket of time, but if there is, you can bet I’ll have a book.

Genres tend to be pretty balanced between novel/short stories, memoirs, writing inspiration (I read less craft books these days since I feel I learn my craft best by writing myself rather than reading about it) and spiritual or yoga books.

I tend to have several book going at once, usually from each of the genres mentioned above so there is always something ready to dip into no matter my mood.

giphy

When somebody tells me that they don’t have time to read, I’m sure I must have a ridiculous blank look on my face. Not have time to read? What does that even mean? It’s like saying you don’t have time to breathe. I’ve been a reader all my life. I remember sinking into the backseat of our Oldsmobile station wagon, driving up-north to the cottage with a stack of Nancy Drew and Trixie Belden books next to me that I had gotten for Christmas. I didn’t even care how long the drive was. Like Rory Gilmore, I take a book with me everywhere. All of my daily use purse are big enough top hold a book.

Annie Dillard’s quote above pretty much sums it up for me. Reading isn’t just something I do, it is large part of who I am.

Check out the challenge here. 

 

One thought on “#AMonthofFaves2016 ~ This Is How We Read

Leave a Reply

