#AMonthofFaves2016 ~ Most Useful Tools For Getting Sh&! Done

get-shit-done

Image found via Pinterest.

I’ve hit a planner dead-end lately. I used to use a simple datebook from One Spirit Book Club. For nine years, I ordered my new one in December. But then, they stopped producing one. Ever since then, I’ve been in planner limbo.

planners

I’ve tried others but they are too much work. Or they don’t lay flat. Or they have each day laid out in 15-minute increment which I don’t need.

I end up feeling like Goldilocks and none of them is just right.

The calendar on my phone gets a lot of use. It took me a while to even start using it but now that I am, it’s working for me. I like the alerts I can set the day before and an hour before. I like that the address pops up, making it easy to get directions to where I need to go.

Mostly though, I’m an old-fashioned, handwritten to-do lis kind of gal. Just the act of writing something down on a list makes it 90% more possible that it will actually get done. I love the satisfaction of crossing things off my list. In fact, I will write something down that I have already done, just to be able to cross it off.

writing-chartThe last tool I use to keep me productive is my writing chart. I got the idea from Jerry Seinfeld who said to make an “X”each day you write (in his case, a joke) and pretty soon you’ll see them all add up and won’t want to break the chain. I created my own on a dry erase board and this year it has worked. My plan is to color in each triangle of the “X” over the next four years and, hopefully, have a five-year daily writing streak.

 

Check out the challenge here. 

Leave a Reply

