#AMonthofFaves2016 ~ Favorite Book to Movie or TV Shows

the-perks-of-being-a-wallflower

I’m not usually a fan of the movie version of books. They always seem just a little flat, a little deflated somehow. However, I can think of four that held up to the original book and one that I found slightly better than the book (for a purely selfish reason).

  1. “Perks of Being a Wallflower” is my number one pick. It’s become one of those movies that I will watch anytime it comes on.
  2. “To Kill a Mockingbird.” Because Gregory Peck. I recently saw this at an old theatre with some friends. I remember watching it in school and not being as enamored as I am as an adult. And living in the times we are in now, it was a sobering movie to watch.
  3. “The Secret Life of Bees.” I just found myself drawn into the visual world of the movie as much as I had been drawn into the world through the book. And the cast! Dakota Fanning. Queen Latifah. Jennifer Hudson. Alicia Keyes.
  4. “The Time traveler’s Wife.” This is the one I probably enjoyed more than the book only because I found the book very confusing with, well, all the time traveling. I remember having to constantly go back and try to figure out which version of each character was meeting which version. The movie made it much more simple to follow and I really enjoyed it. A little laziness on my part, oh well…

As a sidenote, I was really excited to watch “The Handmaid’s Tale” coming to Hulu with Elisabeth Moss but now it may be hitting a little too close to home with the politics in this country the way they are. It may be just a bit too disturbing but I will watch it anyway. No more hiding from what is uncomfortable.

One more sidenote: I never buy the movie version of a book. I want the original, classic book cover. #oldschool

Check out the challenge here. 

Leave a Reply

