#AMonthofFaves2016  ~ I Love … December

Favorite holiday festivities, favorite ornaments, home decor, places to go, holiday drinks, holiday eats, holiday themed reads

I love to decorate for Christmas. Usually, I wait until after Thanksgiving (one holiday at a time). But this year I needed to bring a little joy into my life so everything was up before my daughters came home from college for Thanksgiving. I’ve been playing Christmas music in the car and in the house all day and night. Already watching some of our favorite Christmas movies. ere are some of my favorite things that bring  me a little more joy to the season:

Favorite Christmas movies:

elf

“I’m a cotton-headed ninny-muggins.”

the-family-stone

“You have a freak flag. You just don’t fly it.” 

a-christmas-story

“Fra-gee-lay..it must be Italian!”

Favorite Christmas decor:

treasure-box

This is the treasure box I remember from my childhood where I used to keep a picture of Randy Mantooth and other “valuables.” I love that is a family heirloom. It is out year-round but I fill it with ornaments at Christmas.

tryptic

This is something I bought this year because I just kept being drawn back to it in the store. I think I’ll put it in my yoga room after the holidays.

mantle

I love our fireplace mantel!

christmas-birds

These sweet little birds sit on a shelf in our guest bathroom and they make me smile each time I see them.

Favorite gift to give the neighbors:

potpourri

Instead of baking cookies or bread or giving fruit cake or bread, we make these each year. Making sure to save at least one for ourselves because it smells delicious.

Holiday Stove Top Potpourri

1 orange

3-4 cinnamon sticks

1/2 cup fresh cranberries

sprinkle nutmeg

1 T cloves

Quarter the orange.

Put all the ingredients into a saucepan.

Fill pan with water.

Place on the stove on the smallest burner, on the lowest setting.

Refill water as needed.

Favorite Christmas album:

jewel-joy-a-holiday-collection

 

What are favorites things about the holidays? Please share in the comments or link to your post.

Check out the challenge here. 

Leave a Reply

