Salon Saturday

Quotes that Inspire

I type up quotes and tape them to the walls of my office. They keep me company. I read the words of these writers who are doing this work or have done and I feel less alone.

“If you skip a day or more between your writing sessions, your mind will drift away from these deep moments of your story. You will find that you’ll have to slog back to a place that would have been easily attained if only you wrote everyday.” – Walter Mosley

“Creativity itself doesn’t care at all about results–– the only thing it craves is the PROCESS. Learn to love the process and let whatever happens next happen, without fussing too much about it.” – Elizabeth Gilbert

“Write in recollection and amazement for yourself.” – Jack Kerouac

“There isn’t any secret. You sit down and you start and that’s it.” – Elmore Leonard

‘The best advice on writing I’ve ever received: Finish.” – Peter Mayle

What quotes inspire you? I’m always looking for new ones to add to my collection. Please share them or a link to your own post in the comments.

1 thought on “Salon Saturday

  1. Love these quotes! I’m going to link to this on my blog. I often post quotes one at a time (if you go to my blog and search for “quotes” the posts should come up.

Leave a comment